Slider error! Generator source not found: customposts__ajde_events
RecapProgramScheduleAwardsSponsorsStaffJurySpecial ThanksGalleryIn the News

The 13th Annual SFiFF received over 1,900 film submissions from around the globe, hosted over 100 visiting filmmakers, and presented world-class film screenings, discussion panels, and networking events in venues throughout downtown Santa Fe. 2021 SFiFF welcomed Academy Award winning director Oliver Stone received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Facts & Figures

  • SFiFF screens over 150 features, and shorts throughout a 5-day festival each October
  • SFiFF hosted over 11,000 attendees in 2021
  • SFiFF received over 1,900 submissions from filmmakers around the world
  • Recognized with the Arts Innovator Award at the 2021 Santa Fe Mayor’s Arts Awards
  • Social Media:
    • Facebook 28,000+ likes
    • Instagram 9,7500+ follows 
    • Twitter (combined) 13,000+ follows 
  • SFiFF 2021 received over 7 million media impressions excluding media coverage, and over 27 million total impressions

[add_eventon_list fixed_month=”10″ fixed_year=”2019″ ux_val=”3″ event_type_2=”70,” tiles=”yes” tile_count=”3″ tile_bg=”1″ hide_end_time=”yes” hide_month_headers=”yes”]

Lost Bayou

directed by Brian C Miller Richard

Ernie & Joe

directed by Jennifer McShane

The Short History of the Long Road

directed by Ani Simon-Kennedy

Why Can’t I Be Me? Around You

directed by Harrod Blank, Sjoerd Dijk

40 Minutes Over Maui

directed by Josh Covitt and Michael Feld


directed by Kosta Nikas

La Mort, Père & Fils (The Death, Dad, and Son)

directed by Vincent Paronnaud and Denis Walgenwitz


directed by Claudius Gentinetta


directed by Cullen Parr

Enforcement Hours

directed by Paloma Martinez


directed by Stephen Billick

Of The Sea

directed by Stephen Billick

Yes, God, Yes

directed by Karen Maine

Nothing Fancy: Diana Kennedy

directed by Elizabeth Carroll

The Neighbors’ Window

directed by Marshall Curry

Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)

directed by Carol Dysinger

Partial Funding Provided By

Premiere Sponsors

Festival Staff

Jacques Paisner

Artistic Director

Liesette Paisner Bailey

Executive Director

Jena Braziel

Submissions Coordinator and Guest Services Director

Derek Horne

Shorts Programmer

Gary Farmer

Advisory Board Chair

Chris Eyre

Advisory Board Member



Sam Pollard – Sharing a nomination for an Academy Award for Best Documentary for 4 Little Girls(1997) with Spike Lee, documenteur Sam Pollard has earned much acclaim for his directing, editing, producing, and screenwriting. Pollard has also earned an Emmy, a Peabody Career Achievement Award, and Best Documentary at 2020 SFiFF.

Alexandria Bombach – Alexandria Bombach is an award-winning director, cinematographer, and editor from Santa Fe, NM. Her feature-length documentary, On Her Shoulders (2018), won Best Directing in the US Documentary Competition at the Sundance Film Festival, was nominated for two Film Independent Spirit Awards, and was shortlisted for the Academy Awards for Best Documentary Feature. Bombach founded the Santa Fe Editing & Writing Residency, is a 2019 Sundance Institute Momentum Fellow, and a 2019 Chicken & Egg Award Fellow.

Ina Fichman – President and Executive Producer/Producer at INTUITIVE PICTURES, Ina Fichman has produced titles such as Guy Nattiv’s Mabul (The Flood, 2010), which was featured at Berlinale.


Cassidy Freeman Known for her roles in television’s The Righteous Gemstones, Smallville and Longmire, actress and musician Cassidy Freeman also acted in and produced the stunning New Mexico-filmed feature length drama, Cortez.

Kathleen BroylesPresident of the Board of The Milagro Initiative, and is a consultant to Sundance Institute, where she has worked since 1990. Kathleen is also a location casting director known for productions like Honeydripper and Silver City

Danny Rubin – An award-winning screenwriter and playwright, Daniel Rubin co-wrote with Harold Ramis the screenplay for Groundhog Day, for which the two received a BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay.

Jeanne Leblanc Winner of SFiFF’s 2020 Best Narrative Feature with the film, Our Own, Jeanne Leblanc is a writer and director recognized for her unique perspective in drama.

Amanda Lundquist – Winner of SFiFF’s 2017 Best Narrative Feature with the film, Pinsky, Amanda Lundquist is a writer and director known for her comedic storytelling.

Danny Lee Ladely – Served as the Director of the Mary Riepma Ross Media Arts Center for over 40 years and began the Great Plains Film Festival in 1992. 


Paul Lazarus Producer of Westworld(1973) and Barbarosa(1982)

Lily ZepedaDirector of Mr. Toilet: The World’s #2 Man

Priscilla Naunġaġiaq Hensley HolthouseDirector of WE UP: Indigenous Hip-Hop of the Circumpolar North


Adam Brummond

Steve Holleran

Margaret Murray

Castle Searcy

Patti White

Summer Yang


Scott Hussion

Lindsy Campbell

Julia Eringer

Hunter Stiebel

Special Thanks to all of SFiFF’s past filmmakers and attendees, including: Tantoo Cardinal, Jane Seymour, Robert Redford, Ali MacGraw, Wes Studi, John Waters, Ethan Hawke, Shirley MacLaine, George R.R. Martin, Jacqueline Bisset, John Sayles, Maggie Renzi, Ted Hope, N. Scott Momaday, June Diane Raphael, and Bill Plympton.